Alignment Teams

Smart Communities Alignment Team

The Polk Vision Smart Communities Team’s goal is to facilitate opportunity, innovation, growth, and efficiency by promoting Smart Community Services that enhance the quality of life for our citizens.

2023-2024 Smart Communities Team Members

David Palmer, Co-Chair, Polk County BoCC

Marybeth Soderstrom, Co-Chair, Central Florida Regional Planning Council

Mustapha Achoubane, Florida Polytechnic University

Chris Bailey, Charter Communications/Spectrum

Samuel Berrien, Community Volunteer

Frank Canovaca, City of Bartow

Mike Chiavuzzi, Polk County Public Schools

Neil Cleveland, City of Lakeland

Nancy Daley, Lake Alfred

Howard Drake, Polk State Corporate College

Steven Elias, Pennoni

Allison Ellis, Frontier Communications

Grant Ewert, Polk County BoCC

Bill Ferry, Comcast – Florida Region

Gary Gadson, Summit Broadband

Dan Hakker, Summit Broadband

Mattea Hampton, Office of Broadband

Richard Hesse, City of Lakeland


Rebekah Hurd, AdventHealth

Aizan “Bobby” Khan, City of Winter Haven

Jee Hoon Kim, City of Auburndale

Eric Labbe, City of Winter Haven

Justin Laferriere, Polk County BoCC

Charles Lake, City of Lake Alfred

Bill Lean, Summit Broadband

Doug Lewis, Polk County BoCC

David Little, Crosswired Electric

“Lex” Ryan Luther, Windtalker Innovations

Bruce Lyon, Winter Haven Economic Development Council

Stephanie Madden, Commissioner – City of Lakeland

Sean Malott, Central Florida Development Council

Tracy Mercer, Commissioner – City of Winter Haven

Rick Montney, ProPak Software

Matt Mucci, AT&T Florida

Carlos Nathan, National Telecommunications and Information Admin

Hiep Nguyen, City of Winter Haven

Nick Nicholas, DSM

Amanda Jo “AJ” Nicholson, City of Winter Haven

Anne Pasco, Polk County Public Schools

Jack Phillips, Frontier Communications

Mark Rankin, Summit Broadband

Gladys Roberts, Polk County Library Cooperative

David Robinson, DSM

Brian Ross, City of Haines City

Richard Ruck, Lakeland Regional Health

Terri Saltzman, Polk County BoCC

Gaye Sharpe, Polk County BoCC

David Skidmore, Summit Broadband

Ed Smith, ASAP Prints

David Soffer, WANRack

Stephen Sowards, Alternative Choice Wireless

Bob Stack, Polk State College

Kim Stenger, Office of Stacy M. Butterfield, CPA, Polk County Clerk of the Circuit Court & Comptroller

Jennifer Stuart, Summit Broadband

Kevin Sunderland, City of Lake Wales

Chad Tagtow, Citizens Bank & Trust

Brenda Torres, Central Florida Regional Planning Council

Oscar Torres, City of Lakeland

Sravani Vadlamani, Florida Polytechnic University

Kurt Van Wagenen, Summit Broadband

Kate Wallace, Charter Communications/Spectrum

David Ware, Summit Broadband

Amy Wiggins, Lakeland Chamber of Commerce

Paul Womble, Polk County BoCC

Subscribe to our newsletter